Saturday, July 7, 2012

Butterfly Kisses???????????

So, to those of you who follow my Facebooks "notes" it is already obvious by now that I am starting with the ones I already wrote about in there. I am hoping that should get me in the mood, as I didn't save the stuff I tweeted about a hundred years ago. Anyway, this should be the last for today as I plan to sneak in some z's so I can wake up to watch the Donaire fight later.


The next song/video was written about in my FB about 2 years ago, when Dre was only 6 or 7 years old. Well, she's 8 now & I'm still struggling with this song. And sorry but I just need to get this in here somewhere...all the daddy's in the house say "YO"!!! I know y'all are feeling me! Hahaha!


Enjoy the video & read on! :)


Last night after taking Dre’s temperature, I watched her sleep…first checking if she was able to breathe well because she has colds…& cough…& obviously, fever. Later, though, I was drawn to staring at her face. Her hairline, her eyebrows, her curly lashes, her small button-nose, her lips (that my brother, Robert, has always pointed out to be really beautiful), her chin (that reminds me so much of Drew’s, although, thankfully, not as pointy), her chubby cheeks & her cup-shaped ears (that my friends from the Amber Forums said looked like "Amber-ears"). I was so puzzled to find that after almost 7 years of staring at her, she still gets me mesmerized & fills me with so much awe, every single time I do so.
I remember when Dre was born & I was still a professional bum, staring at her would be the last thing I did before I slept & the first thing I did after I awoke. Of course, there were the in-between’s & I did all of these every day…until I found work. When I worked, however, I still did it every chance I got & loved every minute of it. It was here that I realized that the thing most parents say about their babies, specifically on how a single smile can erase all the tiredness, all the frustration, & all the bad things that always happen at work…was true. Indeed, I am a believer. 
But here, now, it was a little different. The feeling I had when I stared at her back when she was younger was that of uncontainable pride, overflowing joy, encompassing contentment, a deep sense of achievement even. Except, strangely that night, there was a feeling I honestly never thought I’d have when looking at her: my baby girl, my sunshine, my princess, the most precious living being on earth.
Taking her hand, I ran my point finger on the dimples under her knuckles. I just love looking at those cute, puffy & dimply dents. If Robert always said, “I hope her lips would never change”, I would ask the same for her “hand clefts” instead. They are my biggest reminders that my baby girl is still just that. A “baby”.
I, then, found myself looking at Dre again. Half-standing on a round, fitting stool, her hair swooped all the way up like a sundae cone, with beads of pearls & small, white flowers elegantly scattered around the dark brown mound. She was playfully twirling a ribbon on the head of her cousin, Jeri, who was busy making sure Dre’s shoes were clean & shiny, while another cousin, Mika, was flicking her to stop twiddling Jeri’s head gear. Kim, the other cousin, came in from a joining room & called out to her saying, “Oh Sondre, please stand still.” She was holding yet another ribbon, only longer & a lot thicker than the one on Jeri’s head. “Honey…” her mom said, as Dre straightened up with a smirk on her face & a friendly tap on Jeri’s chin. Jeri just looked at her, smiled & was oblivious to everything that was happening behind her back...or above her head, for that matter.
It was then that I saw how tall she has grown…how her long, white, glittery dress hung & fell on her perfect body in all the exact places they were to hang & fall (& here she thought a body with some fat would never be perfect)…how her pulled-up hair proudly gave way to show her beautiful shoulders & back that made her look even more classy (to think her mother & I thought she was always too lazy to develop the correct posture)…how her smile has flourished to be the brightest & most refreshing smiles anyone has ever seen (even with the familiar childish grin she would flash every once in a while)…how right I was in saying that she would grow up to be the most beautiful girl in the world (& I have a video to prove it).
“Let me see you.” Trish continued to say as she held Dre’s face. Trish smiled at her & she smiled right back with her patented smile that seemed to say “I know, you’re going to say I’m pretty now, right?” instead she said “Can we show Pad now?”. With that, she seemed to notice the penguin-like creature, half-cowering & half-blocking the doorway (yes, I intend to wear a tux for this & I don’t care…it’s my vision anyway! ;P ).
“Paddy!” she said while gathering the rest of her dress so she wouldn't trip over them & hurried towards me. She stopped about 3 steps from me & overdid a fancy glamour-girl pose, like the ones she used to mimic when she was 4. I manage to muster a smile at this point, although, for those of you who know me well, you know the tears have long been welling in my eyes. Of course, for those of you who really, really know me…you know that I can’t go any further with this…otherwise, I will soooo lose it!
So there. What’s the point? 
Point is, I feel like time has come & gone so fast. I feel like my only daughter has grown up too fast that no matter how hard I try to be there for all the “firsts” in her life, I still feel like I’m missing out on things. I feel like everything around me is happening so fast & I’m moving too slow or that I’m not moving at all. Most times, I’m pretty sure I don’t even want to move, period.
I don’t know if I will be ready for this. I don’t know if I could ever be ready for this. I don’t know if I can ever be ready to see her have suitors, or if having suitors is still possible at this day & age? I don’t know if I can ever be ready to hear her say, for any occasion/event/family gathering, “Pad, is it ok if I bring (what’s-his-face)?”. I don’t know if I can ever be ready to send her off on a date or if what’s-his-face would even still come to the house before taking her out on a date…’cause I’d gladly drive her…& chaperon her…& bring her back home. Hmmm…maybe that can be a rule: 
No proper fetching (for a lack of a better word) = absolute Paddy chaperoning! 
Not a very bad idea. I like it!
Well, back to my uncertainties. I honestly don’t know if I can promise not to strangle anyone who breaks my baby girl’s heart. I’ve actually started saving for my own bail, you know. & I’m not going to hide my love for guns, too! ;P
But, seriously, you get the idea. I’m not sure when I’ll be ready or if I’ll ever be ready, but, one thing is for sure. I need to be ready soon enough. & I guess, here is where I start.

Lips of an Angel

This is dedicated to those of us with skeletons in the other room. Hahaha!




Honey why are you calling me so late?
It's kinda hard to talk right now
Honey why are you crying, is everything okay?
I gotta whisper 'cause I can't be too loud

Well, my girl's in the next room
Sometimes I wish she was you
I guess we never really moved on

It's really good to hear your voice saying my name
It sounds so sweet
Coming from the lips of an angel
Hearing those words it makes me weak

And I never wanna say goodbye
But girl you make it hard to be faithful
With the lips of an angel

It's funny that you're calling me tonight
And yes I've dreamt of you too
And does he know you're talking to me?
Will it start a fight?
No I don't think she has a clue

Well my girl's in the next room
Sometimes I wish she was you
I guess we never really moved on

It's really good to hear your voice saying my name
It sounds so sweet
Coming from the lips of an angel
Hearing those words it makes me weak

And I never wanna say goodbye
But girl you make it hard to be faithful
With the lips of an angel

It's really good to hear your voice saying my name
It sounds so sweet
Coming from the lips of an angel
Hearing those words it makes me weak

And I never wanna say goodbye
But girl you make it hard to be faithful
With the lips of an angel

And I never wanna say goodbye
But girl you make it hard to be faithful
With the lips of an angel
Honey why are you calling me so late?

Damned


Here's a song that is a common denominator among my exes. Some of them actually told me this song was dedicated to me...most of them will agree. ;P



Boy you reminded me of putting these things into words
And save them, for a rainy day
Your shameful heart and sinful soul
Oh, I'm amazed by you and all that you are

Your devious ways, you do the work of the dark forces in this world
And you're evil, oh yes you are 

CHORUS:
Damned, you're one man I just can't stand you're
Damned, you built your castle on the sand, you're
Damned, How could I ever want you for my man?
I've lost you now, so why do I care?

You really knew right from the start
How to work your way into my heart
And then you pulled the trigger, you shot me around the weakest (part)
You're a disgrace to the human race with your pretty face

Your devious ways, you do the work of the dark forces in this world
And you're evil, oh yes you are 

Damned, you're one man I just can't stand you're
Damned, you built your castle on the sand, you're
Damned, How could I ever want you for my man?
I've lost you now, so why do I care?

Your devious ways, you do the work of the dark forces in the world
And you're evil, oh yes you are 

Damned, you're one man I just can't stand you're
Damned, you built your castle on the sand, you're
Damned, How could I ever want you for my man?
I've lost you now, so why do I care? (Why do I care?)

Damned, you're one man I just can't stand you're
Damned, you built your castle on the sand, you're
Damned, How could I ever want you for my man?
I've lost you now, so why do I care? 

Damned - So why do I care?

The Greatest Love Affair

I posted this on my Facebook account as a gift to Trish on our 20th anniversary, last November 25, 2010 & because this is for a very special event in my life, I want this to be the very first post for my brand new blog: The Jukebox Chronicle. Enjoy!


Open Letter to my 3sh on our 20th

(wala akong itatag kaya mamatay na ang mangaalaska...hehehe)


Sweetie,
We discovered this song a long, long, long time ago when we heard Martin Nievera sing it on Penthouse pa ata with his dad. Remember, I tried to get a copy of it when we learned it was Jeffrey Osborne who sang it? Then since the internet hasn't been invented yet at the time, I tried as hard as hell to get the lyrics, writing them down while making sense of it by playing & rewinding the cassette tape until it almost broke. When we finally realized what it meant, we wanted to make it "our song" in a heartbeat. But I was hesitant because I was terrified of jinxing the relationship, as the words of the song seemed to be strictly for those OLD couples who have gone through hell & back. You, on the other hand, have always been sure of our relationship & how we would always stay together, forever. I never agreed to make it our theme song, as corny as that may have sounded just now, because I really never felt confident that we deserved to have it.
However.....
I guess I never trusted myself that much to actually stay in a relationship for 10 years, let alone 20.
But here I am, & here you are...still with me. Through all my tantrums, my craziness, my egocentricity & most especially my "Shane"isms...you've stood by me & never left my side (well, ok, maybe for some short periods at a time, but I guess you really can't expect to overpower my charms for too long ;P). I know we have been through a heck of a lot over the years & I would be the first to say that it hasn't been easy. Truthfully, YOU made it easier. I can never imagine living my life without you, nor do I ever plan to. We're a package deal, remember? ;P
I think that's also another reason why I keep asking you form time to time kung maghihiwalay pa tyo. You always answer with "Aynako B, hindi na. Sorry, but you have no choice. You're stuck with me."
So eto na, I'm writing you a letter, something I haven't done in a very, very, very long time...
A "21st century style" letter na nasa FB, kung san kitang-kita ng buong mundo, na punong-puno ng mga taong pwedeng-pwede akong asarin at alaskahin hanggang mamatay sila :))...
Only to immortalize your words. Mapapahiya ka na pag hiniwalayan mo pa ako nito. :))
But seriously, contrary to what you always say, ikaw na ang napasubo.
This is me telling you: we will never part. You are my life, you are my world. Losing you will be the death of me.
Ayan, bago pa ako maiyak...ito na.

We turn 20 years today, Babe.
It's time.
I know this is our song...it's been OUR SONG all along.

We've seen the brokenhearted
New loves started and then fade away
Where love ran out of energy
Somewhere along the way
Oh but lady, the lessons we have learned
Have helped us make it
The mountains we have climbed
Are far behind

It's been a life long love song
With every lyric saying that
We're still number one
And now composed, our love has grown
And we have turned a prayer into
The greatest love affair of them all

And now we both should cherish
The treasures at the rainbow's end
The game is finally over
I knew that we would win
Oh and lady, the lessons we have learned
Have helped us make it
The mountains we have climbed
Are far behind

From now on it will be easy
So easy for you and I
We've found the purpose and the reason
The need lives on inside

Happy Anniversary, Sweetie!
I love you biggest.
Forever Yours,
B